Three Fathoms Observatory
Stewart Yeung








                                                                                                                                                                                               Studies of Physics

Nobel Prize in Physics 2012 (10 October 2012)






Serge Haroche and David Wineland win the 2012 Nobel Prize in physics for their ground-breaking experiments measuring and manipulating quantum system of light and individual atoms/ions without disturbing their quantum nature of “entanglement” and “coherence” (i.e. no reverting to “classical” behaviors with the “collapse” of the wave functions). Their work paves the way for quantum computing, atomic clock, and opens up the gate for novel, even exotic quantum devices such as teleportation (transfer of information instantaneously, even at a distance across the Universe).

The recent discovery of Higgs Boson at CERN by experiments using the Large Hadron Collider, will probably lead to new Nobel prize Laureates in 2013. I tip that Peter Higgs of the Edinburgh Univerisity, my Alma mater, will be on the list.